The ACU is the No 1 organisation for all forms of Motorcycle Sport in the UK with 550 Clubs organising over 3000 events each year & the only Body affiliated to the FIM
Telephone: 01788 566400
About ACU
Contact Us
[Read the current ACU COVID-19 Statement here]
Due to the country being in national lockdown, ACU Head Office is currently manned on minimal levels with the majority of staff working from home. For sporting matters please contact your relevant sport secretary: Motocross email; Trials & Enduro email; Road Racing and Grass Track email; for all other enquiries, please continue to email

Final round of Dave Barkshire Motorcycles Two Man Enduro Championship

Tuesday October 27, 2015 at 12:19pm
Final round of Dave Barkshire Motorcycles Two Man Enduro Championship
The final round of the Dave Barkshire Two Man Enduro Championship took place at the historic track of Little Loveney Hall Wakes Colne.  The event was organised by the Halstead Motor Cycle Club who run a similar event several years ago jointly with their neighbouring Club of Sudbury. 

The course was partly on the motocross track with tight twists and turns of the track and proved very challenging in the morning session for the 42 teams.  

There were four teams in the Championship Class consisting of the 2013 winners Tom Braddock/Toby Morley and local riders from Halstead, Sudbury and Colchester of Brendon Mayers/Joe Marsh, Craig Roper/Rob Blackman and Jamie Roper/Stevie Roper who have won the solo title three times each. There was a ding dong battle through the day between these four teams and at the end of the morning session Roper/Roper were leading on 33 laps while the other three teams were on 31 laps. 

However in the drier afternoon session it was a different story with Roper/Blackman completing 35 laps, Roper/Roper and Mayers/Marsh both on 34 laps and Braddock/Morley 32 laps.  After time penalties were deducted it was 1st Roper/Roper 65.75 laps, 2nd Roper/Blackman 64.75 laps 3rd Mayers/Marsh 63.5 laps and 4th Braddock/Morley 63 laps. With the Championship Class Title already won by Aston Bird/Carl Grantham it left the battle for 2nd and 3rd and provisionally 2nd place has gone to the Halstead pairing of Mayers/Marsh on 49 points beating Braddock/Morley by one point.

The Expert Class was just as competitive with Sam Mitchell/Harry Clark riding together for the first time completed 32 laps in the morning session followed by Kevin Palmer/Ben Grice and Alex Walton/Jamie Lagden both on 31 laps and behind them on 30 laps were Ross Taylor/Michael Ridge and Rob Aldridge/Ed Pooley.  Mitchell/Clark continued in the afternoon session leading the field and completed 35 laps with Palmer/Grice, Dan Richardson/Mark Relland, Aldridge/Pooley and Walton/Lagden on 33 laps.  After late time penalties it was a win for Mitchell/Clark 65.75 laps, 2nd Aldridge/Pooley 62.5 laps, 3rd Palmer/Grice 61.75 laps, 4th Richardson/Relland 61.5 laps.  With Aldridge/Pooley having already won the Expert Title on 87 points while Martin & David Stevens are 2nd with 64 points and Kieron Snowling/Mark Sharman 3rd on 58 points. 

It was a win for Dan Willis/Chris Wright in the Clubman Class completing 59.75 laps, 2nd Karl/Aaron Graves 58.75 laps, 3rd Matt Smith/Marc Norton 57 laps and 4th Phil Whiting/Perry Miller 55.75 laps.  Willis/Wright has won the Clubman Class with 97 points with the Sudbury Veteran pairing of Whiting/Miller 2nd with 58 points and 3rd Kevin Gore/Dale Wiseman on 56 points.

An added attraction was Sub Classes and it was a win for Phil Roper/Paul Belton in the Expert Veteran on 58.75 Laps, 2nd Graham Mays/Nigel Ross 55.75 laps and 3rd Tim Ford/Jeff Sharp 53.5 laps.  It was a welcome return for Jeff Sharp who suffered two heart attacks in March and it took 29 minutes to bring him back to life. 

In the Clubman Veteran Sub Class 1st Less Rampton/Martin Greenaway 54.75 laps. 2nd Martin Gunton/Gavin Potter 50.75 laps. 3rd Andrew Richards/Mark Plouman 50.25 laps, 4th Paul Wright/Stuart Flatman 48.75 laps and 5th Philip & Peter Barltrop 48.25 laps. 

Wayne Miller/Paul Manning were the only team in the Clubman Super Veteran Sub Class and were declared winners on 47.25 laps while John Austin was the only rider in the Ironman (Solo) Class completing  57 laps.

» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Enduro
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400