The ACU is the No 1 organisation for all forms of Motorcycle Sport in the UK with 550 Clubs organising over 3000 events each year & the only Body affiliated to the FIM
Telephone: 01788 566400
About ACU
Contact Us
[Read the current ACU COVID-19 Statement here]
Due to the country being in national lockdown, ACU Head Office is currently manned on minimal levels with the majority of staff working from home. For sporting matters please contact your relevant sport secretary: Motocross email; Trials & Enduro email; Road Racing and Grass Track email; for all other enquiries, please continue to email
Please note: To save on overheads, and whilst there is no sporting activity, ACU Head Office has reduced to a three day working week, therefore, staff are on furlough Mondays and Fridays and unable to respond to enquiries on those days. This will be reviewed at the end of March.


Thursday July 31, 2014 at 2:23pm

Linxcel Trick Moto Racing (Mark Clark/Hudson Kennaugh) headed home a battling trio to win the sixth round of the ACU/ Endurance championship at Snetterton and notch up their second victory of the season.

Silicone Engineering (Dean Harrison/Russ Mountford) was second over the line, only 27 seconds down on the winners at the end of the three-hour race.

Team Prime Factors Performance House Racing (Michael Brown/Stefan Cappella) was third home, also completing 91 laps, 43 seconds behind the winners.

That result brought to an end Team Prime Factors run of four wins-in-a-row, but their lead in the series increased from 29 points to 33 over the race winners, who have moved up to second in the National 1000 standings.

Linxel Trick Moto Racing Team 2 (Jonny Towers/Taylor Mackenzie), was fourth, a lap down on the leading trio, after qualifying in pole position..

Go Racing Developments (Greg Allsop/Andy Carpenter), was fifth overall, completing 89 laps and staying third in the points’ table,

Team owner Nick Edgeley was joined in Team Edge by Alex Olsen, the National Superstock 600 Evo front runner, making his Endurance racing debut.

They were sixth overall, first National 600 team over the line, on 88 laps.

T. Watson Bikes, (Rick Dickinson/Tom Stephens), was seventh overall and first in the Sorrymate Clubman 1000 Endurance class.

Double H Racing, (Marc Hoche/Simon Lacey), was eighth overall, two laps behind T. Watson Bikes, the second Clubman 1000 team.

Team (Colin Norris/Warren Verwey), was second National 600 team over the line, ninth overall. They now trail Team Edge by 16 points.

Team Army 2 (Wayne Morgan/Richard Spencer-Fleet) continued their unbeaten run in the Clubman 600 class, finishing 14th overall. They have a  xx points lead from Still Game Racing (James Butterworth/David Muir).


Linxcel Powerbike 1000

Ryan Gibson (Suzuki), the 19-year-old from Watford, is now only 55 points of the opposition in the Linxcel Powerbike 1000 series, after crashing out in the second of four races.

 Michael Neeves (BMW 1000) qualified on pole and then notched up a second place, a third, a fourth and a fifth, in tough competition. to go second in the standings.

Jonathan Lodge (Kawasaki 1000) is up to third. His bike broke down in race one, but he bounced to finish third, second and second to go third in the championship, three behind Neeves.

Michael Hogarth crashed in the first Linxcel Pre-National 1000 race, damaging his Kawasaki 1000 and putting him out of the meeting.

Christian Holt (Suzuki 1000) now leads on 276.

Monex Europe Power Sport 600

John Lea (Triumph 675) won all four Monex Europe Power Sport 600 races, but it had no effect on the battle for the title.

Wayne Humble (Yamaha) took two seconds and two thirds to climb to the top of the points’ table on 347, with David Wood Jr (Yamaha) second on 328, overtaking the absent Richard Carlton (Yamaha), who has 319.

Tom Boyce now leads the Monex Europe Pre-National 600 class, notching up 76 points to overtake his brother Jamie Boyce.

Tom has 381 points, six more than Jamie.

Modern Classics

Kingsley Ruddy (Suzuki 1000) missed the practice day, but still qualified second fastest for the Modern Classics Formula One class.

He won race one, on Saturday morning, nearly 24 seconds clear of his closest rival, Laurie Sands (Kawasaki 1000).

Ruddy missed the second after suffering a gear-box oil leak in the Powerbike 1000 race immediately before, leaving Sands to take victory ahead of Karl Fuller (Yamaha 1000).

Ruddy bounced back to win the third race, on Sunday morning, with Sands again runner-up.

Ruddy made it three wins in the fourth and final race, which was red-flagged after seven laps and re-run at the end of the day, with Sands once again second.

Ruddy still leads the championship, but Sands is now only three points behind him.


Owen Richardson (Kawasaki 750) had only scored in two of the previous eight races in the Modern Classic Superbikes, but despite that was still leading the class by 13 points from Matt Taylor (Kawasaki 750).

Richardson’s bad luck continued here when his engine blew up when leading race four.

He could not make the re-run, so ended the day with three wins.

Taylor finished fifth and third in the two races he completed, so the gap has now stretched to 46.

Superbikes EVO

Steve Blackwell’s hopes of regaining the lead in the Modern Classic Superbike Evo class were dashed as early as practice when the gear-box on his Suzuki 750 broke,

Then on a machine loaned by Alan Smith he was taken out at the hairpin early in Sunday’s first race, fracturing his right foot.

He did not score a point all weekend while rival Raymond Stagg added another 95 to his score, climbing to 394, a lead of 129
» Categories: Club News, Home Page, Road Race
Auto-Cycle Union Ltd.
ACU House, Wood Street, Rugby.
CV21 2YX.
Telephone: 01788 566400