

TRACK RACING INFORMATION - 15.1

NEW ITEMS FOR 2016

Sound Controls for Grass Track:

No change in the rules for silencers for 2016.

Licences and Insurance Fees:

GREAT NEWS – there's NO increase to licence or insurance fees for 2016.

Alternative Roping System:

The 'Alternative Roping' system **WILL NOT** be allowed to be used as part of the safety barrier system for any ACU Championship event in 2016.

New Class for 500cc Right Hand Sidecars

The new 500cc RH Sidecar class will cater for ages from 15 years old & upwards as of 1st January 2016

Youth:

Due to a review of this area by the Track Racing Committee (TRC), the classes and riders ages are going to be revised. These changes will not be implemented *until* 1st January 2017

> Auto / Cadet

Age 6-8: 50cc Auto/up to 65cc 2 stroke

> Junior

Age 8-11: up to 85cc 2 stroke/150cc 4 stroke

> Intermediate

Age 11-13: up to 200cc 2 stroke

> Senior

Age 13-17: 250cc 2 stroke or 4 stroke.

Technical Issues:

- > All engine cut outs will be tested *prior* to practice in the 2016 season.
- Start lines tapes will be checked prior to the start of each meeting. This is to ensure that they will break easily (and not cause abrasive burns to rider's necks, as has happened on occasions in recent seasons).

2015 ACU British Grass Track Champions

2015 British Grass Track Champions:

250cc – Zach Wajtknecht

350cc - Tom Perry

500cc Sidecar – Joshua Goodwin / Liam Brown

1000cc Left Hand Sidecar – Will Penfold / Ricky Pay

British Masters Open Championship:

Solo – James Shanes

1000cc Sidecar - Colin Blackbourn / Carl Pugh

British Master Clubman's Champions:

500cc Solo – Harland Cook

1000cc Sidecar - Rob Wilson / Bradley Steer

British Sand Race Champions:

Solo – James Shanes

Sidecar - Gareth Winterburn / Liam Brown

Pre 75 Champions:

250cc – Richard Warry

350cc - Chris Mackett

500cc - Dave Hammond

Upright Champions:

250cc – Richard Warry

350cc - Gerald Short

500cc - Dave Wright

Brian Stibbs Trophy Winners:

Colin Blackbourn & Carl Pugh

Jim Rendall Trophy Winner:

James Shanes

Youth Championships:

Auto Cadet – Max Perry Junior – Harry McGurk Senior A – Luke Harris Cadet – Luke Harrison Intermediate – Kyle Bickley Senior B – Connor Locke

Junior 65 MX - Mickie Simson

CONGRATULATIONS – TEAM GB ARE WORLD CHAMPIONS!!!

Congratulations to the victorious ACU 'Team GB' Long Team of Richard Hall, Andrew Appleton, Glen Phillips and James Shanes, who won a close fought Final by beating the host German team by 1 point at Mühldorf, in Southern Germany.

This was the first time that Team GB have won the event, and the prestigious Don Godden trophy (pictured right), was presented to the Team GB Manager – Mitch Godden, (Don's son).

Team GB will defend their title at Marianske Lazne in the Czech Republic on the 16th July



2016 ACU CHAMPIONSHIP EVENTS







The ACU Track Racing Committee are pleased to announce the following dates and organisers for the various 2016 ACU championship events:

- British Masters Bristol GRC 14 August
- British Championships GTSA 18 Sept
- British Clubman's Champ Cheshire GTC 19 June
- British Sand Race Champ Guernsey May 21
- Upright Champ'ships Hayes & Southall MCC 11/24 July
- Pre 75 Championships Pickering & DMCC 26 June
- British Youth Norwich New Stars TBC
- British Under 21 Norwich New Stars TBC









FIME EUROPEAN INDIVIDUAL GRASS TRACK FINAL

The ACU TRC is pleased to announce that ASTRA GTC, together with the ACU will be hosting the FIME European Individual Final at Swingfield, Folkestone on 11th September 2016. The event will guarantee spectators a top class line-up of Europe's best Solo riders, all of whom

will be aiming to be crowned the 2016 European Champion. The event will also include an exciting line-up of all the top British 1000cc Sidecar teams. For more information nearer the event, log onto www.acu.org.uk

STEPPING DOWN

Following seven years as Chairman of the ACU Track Racing Committee, Peter Gregory has decided to stand down from the role. Peter has one year remaining as a committee member, before formally retiring and stepping away from the administrative and management side of the sport.

Dickie Staff has been elected as the new Chairman for the forthcoming three years, with former European Grass Track Champion **Paul Hurry** elected as the new Vice Chairman.



The other members of the current committee are, **Tony Noel** (Honorary Chairman), **Dick Sullivan**, **Peter Gregory**, **Mick Stace** and **Steve Brace** all ably supported by Committee Secretary **Tracey Cossar**

The new Chairman commented 'I'm confident that with the current makeup of the Track Racing Committee, we have a good spread of knowledge across the sport, covering all aspects of technical, Solo, Sidecar and International issues. With the years of knowledge and experience gained by Peter and Tony, I'm sure that we can deal with most situations as and when they arise'.